spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus berths with the ISS
Posted: Sun, Jan 12, 2014, 4:04 PM ET (2104 GMT)
Cygnus berthing with ISS on Orb-1 mission (NASA) An Orbital Sciences cargo spacecraft successfully berthed with the International Space Station early Sunday. The station's Canadarm2 robotic arm grappled the Orbital Sciences Cygnus spacecraft at 7:08 am EST (1208 GMT) Sunday and moved it to the station's Harmony node, berthing it there at 8:05 am EST (1305 GMT). The station's crew opened the module's hatches a few hours later and reported the spacecraft's cargo to be in good condition. The Cygnus, flying a mission designed Orb-1, launched Thursday on an Antares rocket from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia. It carries about 1,260 kilograms of cargo, including a fleet of commercial remote sensing nanosatellites that will later be deployed from the station. The Cygnus is slated to remain at the station until February 18.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list