spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus berths with the ISS
Posted: Sun, Jan 12, 2014, 4:04 PM ET (2104 GMT)
Cygnus berthing with ISS on Orb-1 mission (NASA) An Orbital Sciences cargo spacecraft successfully berthed with the International Space Station early Sunday. The station's Canadarm2 robotic arm grappled the Orbital Sciences Cygnus spacecraft at 7:08 am EST (1208 GMT) Sunday and moved it to the station's Harmony node, berthing it there at 8:05 am EST (1305 GMT). The station's crew opened the module's hatches a few hours later and reported the spacecraft's cargo to be in good condition. The Cygnus, flying a mission designed Orb-1, launched Thursday on an Antares rocket from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia. It carries about 1,260 kilograms of cargo, including a fleet of commercial remote sensing nanosatellites that will later be deployed from the station. The Cygnus is slated to remain at the station until February 18.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hyperbola-1 launch fails
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astronomers release first image of black hole in Milky Way core
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

Boeing considers Starliner valve redesign
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 17
Rocket Lab widens loss, but pipeline thickens to US$551m
New Zealand Herald — 3:57 am ET (0757 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list