spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX successfully launches communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Jan 7, 2014, 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Thaicom 6 (SpaceX) A Falcon 9 rocket successfully placed a commercial communications satellite into orbit Monday evening. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on schedule at 5:06 pm EST (2206 GMT) Monday and released the Thaicom 6 satellite into a supersynchronous transfer orbit 31 minutes later. The satellite, built by Orbital Sciences, weighed 3,330 kilograms at launch and carries C- and Ku-band transponders. Thai satellite operator Thaicom to provide communications services for Southeast Asia and Africa from 78.5 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the second launch in just over a month for the Falcon 9, and the third for the upgraded version of the rocket. The launch had been scheduled for Friday but delayed to Monday because of a unspecified issue with the rocket.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hyperbola-1 launch fails
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astronomers release first image of black hole in Milky Way core
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

Boeing considers Starliner valve redesign
Posted: Sun, May 15 9:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 17
Rocket Lab widens loss, but pipeline thickens to US$551m
New Zealand Herald — 3:57 am ET (0757 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list