spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India resets GSLV launch for January 5
Posted: Tue, Dec 31, 2013, 6:04 AM ET (1104 GMT)
GSLV-D5 on pad before second launch attempt (ISRO) The Indian space agency ISRO has reschedule the launch of its most powerful rocket to early January after an earlier attempt was scrubbed in August. ISRO said that the launch of its Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) carrying the GSAT 14 satellite is now planned for 5:48 am EST (1048 GMT, 4:18 pm Indian time) on January 5. ISOR moved the launch vehicle to its pad at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre on Saturday. ISRO previously attempted to launch the rocket on August 19, but scrubbed the launch because of a fuel leak in the rocket's second stage that required extensive repairs. The GSLV is more powerful than India's workhorse Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) rocket, but has a checkered history; its last two launches, in April and December of 2010, both failed.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
Britain’s biggest satellite company wins $500m US Navy contract
The Daily Telegraph — 6:17 am ET (1017 GMT)
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list