spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches Air Force satellite, cubesats
Posted: Wed, Nov 20, 2013, 7:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
Minotaur 1 launch of ORS-3 (Orbital Sciences Corp.) A Minotaur rocket launched an Air Force technology demonstration satellite and 28 cubesats on Tuesday night. The Minotaur I lifted off from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia, at 8:15 pm EST Tuesday (0115 GMT Wednesday) on the ORS-3 mission for the Operationally Responsive Space (ORS) Office. The launch was delayed 45 minutes because of a problem with a tracking station, but the launch otherwise took place smoothly. The Minotaur's primary payload was STPSat-3, a spacecraft that uses a standard bus to host five payloads to test sensors and collect space science data. The launch also carried 28 cubesats into orbit, ranging from NASA's PhoneSat 2.4 satellite that uses a smartphone for much of its electronics to TJ3Sat, a cubesat built by high school students in Virginia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 29
China’s Chang’e 5 spacecraft enters lunar orbit
Spaceflight Now — 9:11 am ET (1411 GMT)
Japanese data relay satellite launches on H-2A rocket
Spaceflight Now — 9:11 am ET (1411 GMT)
Canada developing lunar rover and science payloads
Space News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list