spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches Air Force satellite, cubesats
Posted: Wed, Nov 20, 2013, 7:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
Minotaur 1 launch of ORS-3 (Orbital Sciences Corp.) A Minotaur rocket launched an Air Force technology demonstration satellite and 28 cubesats on Tuesday night. The Minotaur I lifted off from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia, at 8:15 pm EST Tuesday (0115 GMT Wednesday) on the ORS-3 mission for the Operationally Responsive Space (ORS) Office. The launch was delayed 45 minutes because of a problem with a tracking station, but the launch otherwise took place smoothly. The Minotaur's primary payload was STPSat-3, a spacecraft that uses a standard bus to host five payloads to test sensors and collect space science data. The launch also carried 28 cubesats into orbit, ranging from NASA's PhoneSat 2.4 satellite that uses a smartphone for much of its electronics to TJ3Sat, a cubesat built by high school students in Virginia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list