spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 v1.1 performs first launch
Posted: Sun, Sep 29, 2013, 2:18 PM ET (1818 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of CASSIOPE (SpaceX) The first launch of an upgraded version of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket was declared a success by the company shortly after liftoff Sunday. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 12:00 pm EDT (1600 GMT) at the beginning of a three-hour launch window. The launch proceeded as planned and company officials later confirmed that the spacecraft's primary payload, Canada's CASSIOPE spacecraft, and several secondary cubesats, all deployed nominally. The launch was highly anticipated as it represented several firsts, including of the upgraded Falcon 9 with improved engines and a stretched first stage. The launch was also the first from SpaceX from its pad at Vandenberg and the first Falcon 9 launch to use a payload fairing. The primary payload, CASSIOPE, is a Canadian space science and technology demonstration satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list