spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches military communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 8:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of AEHF-3 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched the third in a series of military communications satellites for the US Air Force early Wednesday. The Atlas 5 531 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 4:10 am EDT (0810 GMT) and placed the Advanced Extremely High Frequency (AEHF) 3 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit 51 minutes later. The launch was postponed by more than hour because of clouds at the launch site. The Lockheed Martin-built AEHF-3 satellite, weighing more than 6,100 kilograms at launch, is designed to provide secure communications for the US military, joining two others launched in 2010 and 2012.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list