spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches LADEE lunar mission
Posted: Sat, Sep 7, 2013, 11:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
Minotaur 5 launch of LADEE (Orbital Sciences) A Minotaur 5 successfully launched a NASA lunar orbiter spacecraft Friday night, although project officials said the spacecraft is suffering from what they consider to be a minor problem. The Minotaur 5, a version of the Minotaur 4 rocket with an additional stage, launched from the Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia at 11:27 pm EDT Friday (0327 GMT Saturday) and placed the Lunar Atmosphere and Dust Environment Explorer (LADEE) spacecraft into a highly elliptical orbit. LADEE will transition from this orbit into one around the Moon in early October, and start its 100-day science mission a month later. The spacecraft, weighing less than 400 kilograms, will study the Moon's extremely tenuous atmosphere and the behavior of lunar dust. Project officials said that the spacecraft encountered a problem with its reaction wheels immediately after entering orbit, but believe the problem is not a serious one and can be resolved before the spacecraft arrives at the Moon.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starliner cleared for Dec. 20 test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Rocket Lab opens US launch site
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)

Northrop Grumman signs up first customer for OmegA rocket
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:37 AM ET (1237 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 16
Astronaut lands on Mount Snow
Brattleboro (VT) Reformer — 5:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Roscosmos to Begin Creating United State Space Program in 2020
Sputnik International — 5:14 am ET (1014 GMT)
US-India space cooperation: Moving away from the burden of the past
Observer Research Foundation — 5:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list