spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 30, 2013, 8:07 AM ET (1207 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Eutelat 25B/GSAT-7 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched communications satellites for a European-Middle Eastern joint venture and for India on Thursday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off on schedule at 4:30 pm EDT (2030 GMT) Thursday from the European spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, and placed its payload of two satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbit about a half-hour later. The Ariane 5 launched Eutelsat 25B/Es'hail 1, a communications satellite that is a joint venture of European satellite operator Eutelsat and Qatari company Es'hailsat. The satellite, built by Space Systems/Loral, weighed 6,310 kilograms at launch and carries a Ka- and Ku-band payload to provide communications services from 25.5 degrees east. The other satellite, GSAT-7, is India's first dedicated military communications satellite. The 2,650-kilogram satellite, built by ISRO, will provide communications services for India's navy from 74 degrees east.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list