spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Glitch scrubs launch of new Japanese rocket
Posted: Tue, Aug 27, 2013, 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
Epsilon-1 rocket on pad before launch (JAXA) The first launch of a new Japanese small launch vehicle was scrubbed Tuesday because of a technical issue in the final seconds of the countdown. The Japanese space agency JAXA said computers stopped the launch of its Epsilon-1 rocket 19 seconds before the planned liftoff at 12:45 am EDT (0445 GMT, 1:45 pm Japan time) Tuesday. In a brief statement, JAXA said an "attitude abnormality" caused the scrub, but offered no additional details, nor when the launch would be rescheduled. Epsilon-1 is a launch vehicle designed for small satellites, replacing the M-V rocket. JAXA has emphasized the use of advanced technology in the rocket designed to provide more autonomous control of the vehicle by its computers. The rocket is carrying SPRINT-A, a satellite designed to carry out spectroscopic observations of other planets from Earth orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list