spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fuel leak postpones GSLV launch
Posted: Tue, Aug 20, 2013, 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
GSLV-D5 before launch (ISRO) A fuel leak focused the Indian space agency to scrub Monday's scheduled launch of its GSLV rocket, a problem that will likely lead to a lengthy delay. The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) had planned to launch the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) at 7:20 am EDT (1120 GMT, 4:50 pm Indian time) Monday. However, the launch was scrubbed less than two hours before launch when technicians detected a fuel leak in the rocket's second stage. No new launch date for the GSLV has been announced, but the vehicle will be moved back to its assembly building, suggesting a delay of more than several days. The launch is the first for the GSLV since an unsuccessful launch in December 2010; three of the last four GSLV launches, dating back to 2006, have failed. The GSLV is carrying the GSAT 14 communications satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list