spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:48 AM ET (1248 GMT)
China launched a navigation satellite Monday. A Long March 3B lifted off at 12:43 pm EST (1773 GMT, 1:43 am Tuesday Beijing time),...

Cygnus cargo spacecraft launched to ISS
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 8:28 AM ET (1328 GMT)
An Antares rocket successfully launched a Cygnus cargo spacecraft carrying several tons of cargo for the International Space Station. The Northrop Grumman Antares 230+ rocket...

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
A Long March 4B rocket launched a remote sensing satellite Sunday. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at...

Eutelsat to lay off 10% of workforce
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 8:26 AM ET (1326 GMT)
Eutelsat is planning to lay off about 10% of its workforce as part of cost-cutting measures. The Paris-based satellite operator said it will...

Boeing, SpaceX prep for commercial crew abort tests
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 8:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)
Boeing and SpaceX will perform tests of commercial crew abort systems in the next week. A NASA official said Wednesday the pad abort test of...

SES revenues decline
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 8:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
SES said its revenues fell in the first three quarters as the year as new data services failed to make up for declining video services....

Eutelsat satellite suffers anomaly after launch
Posted: Sat, Oct 26 4:49 PM ET (2049 GMT)
A Eutelsat communications satellite launched earlier this month has a solar array problem. Eutelsat said Thursday it is investigating an "incident" with one of two...

Virgin Galactic completes merger
Posted: Sat, Oct 26 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)
Virgin Galactic will become a publicly traded company next week as it completes a merger. Shareholders in Social Capital Hedosophia (SCH), a special-purpose acquisition...

Blue Origin forms "national team" to compete for NASA lunar lander contract
Posted: Sat, Oct 26 4:46 PM ET (2046 GMT)
Blue Origin announced Tuesday it is joining forces with three other companies on a "national team" to propose a lunar lander to NASA. Blue Origin...

China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)
China launched a secretive satellite Thursday. A Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:21 am EDT (1521 GMT)...



news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 8
Leaf Line Expands With a New GS in Santa Maria, Azores
Leaf Space — 8:30 pm ET (0030 GMT)
Surprisingly Young Galaxy Breaks Low-Oxygen Record
Keck Observatory — 8:29 pm ET (0029 GMT)
CfA Scientists Discover Mysterious Spiral Structures around a "Planet Factory"
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list