spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 1 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Rockot vehicle launched a small satellite for Russia's military Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:...

US Space Command formally reestablished
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
President Trump formally reestablished U.S. Space Command during a White House ceremony Thursday. In brief remarks, Trump said the revived command "will boldly deter...

Iranian rocket explodes on launch pad
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:17 PM ET (2217 GMT)
An Iranian rocket appears to have exploded on its pad during preparations for a launch. Satellite imagery taken Thursday showed a plume of smoke and...

JWST segments combined for first time
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:14 PM ET (2214 GMT)
The two halves of the James Webb Space Telescope have been connected for the first time. NASA said Wednesday that the observatory's telescope element,...

SpaceX flies Starhopper vehicle
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
SpaceX's Starhopper vehicle performed its highest, and final, test flight Tuesday. The vehicle, an early prototype of SpaceX's next-generation Starship system, took...

NASA inspector general asks for relief on Europa Clipper launch requirement
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:11 PM ET (2211 GMT)
NASA's inspector general is asking Congress to remove a requirement in law that the agency launch the Europa Clipper mission on the Space Launch...

Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Vector suspended operations and replaced its CEO Friday because of financial problems. In a statement late Friday, the company said that...

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)
An Atlas 5 lifted off early Thursday morning carrying a military communications satellite. The United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 551 launched from Cape Canaveral, Florida,...

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched two communications satellites Tuesday. The Ariane 5 took off at 3:30 pm EDT (1930 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana,...

Falcon 9 launches Israeli communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:57 PM ET (1957 GMT)
SpaceX placed an Israeli satellite into orbit Tuesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 7:23 pm...



news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 14
U.S. Space Policy: The United States Space Force
Voice of America — 10:06 am ET (1506 GMT)
Let There Be Light (but not too much)
WHYY Philadelphia — 9:35 am ET (1435 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list