spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX flies Starhopper vehicle
Posted: Fri, Aug 30, 2019, 6:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
SpaceX's Starhopper vehicle performed its highest, and final, test flight Tuesday. The vehicle, an early prototype of SpaceX's next-generation Starship system, took off from a pad at the company's South Texas test site shortly after 6 pm EDT (2200 GMT), landing on another pad a short distance away nearly a minute later. The vehicle was planned to fly to an altitude of 150 meters, but the company did not immediately disclose the vehicle's peak altitude. The test will be the last flight for Starhopper, as the company moves on to "Starship Mark 1" prototypes under construction that could be ready for initial flights later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 23
Homeowners reject SpaceX buyout offer
Rio Grande Valley Morning Star — 7:07 am ET (1107 GMT)
One problem with 2024 moon landing: Where’s the rocket?
Florida Politics — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list