spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GSLV launches communications satellite
Posted: Fri, Aug 28, 2015, 9:08 PM ET (0108 GMT)
GSLV launch of GSAT-6 (ISRO) India's Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) launched a communications satellite on a mission that the country's space agency demonstrated the performance of the rocket's upper stage. The GSLV lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 7:22 am EDT (1122 GMT, 16:52 Indian time) and placed the GSAT-6 communications satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit 17 minutes later. The satellite, weighing 2,117 kilograms at launch, carries a payload of C- and S-band transponders, including a 6-meter deployable antenna for mobile applications to serve "strategic users." The launch was the second consecutive GSLV flight to successfully use a domestically-developed cryogenic upper stage, a milestone the space agency ISRO says ends years of difficulties in developing the stage and demonstrating its effectiveness.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list