spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon splashes down in Pacific
Posted: Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 6:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
Dragon splashdown on SpX-5 mission (SpaceX) A SpaceX Dragon cargo spacecraft carrying nearly 1,700 kilograms of experiments and equipment from the International Space Station left the station Tuesday, splashing down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft was released by the station's robotic arm at 2:10 pm EST (1910 GMT) after spending nearly a month attached to the station. The spacecraft departed from the vicinity of the station and reentered several hours later, splashing down in the Pacific Ocean southwest of California at 7:44 pm EST (0044 GMT Wednesday). The Dragon brought back about 1,680 kilograms of cargo from the station, including experiments and other equipment. Dragon carried more than 2,300 kilograms of cargo to the ISS on the fifth of 12 contracted supply missions in January.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list