spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches AsiaSat 6
Posted: Sun, Sep 7, 2014, 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of AsiaSat 6 (AsiaSat) For the second time in as many months, a Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for an Asian company early Sunday. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from pad 40 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 1 am EDT (0500 GMT) and released the AsiaSat 6 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit a little more than a half-hour later. SpaceX delayed the launch by 10 minutes to allow cloudy conditions to clear. SpaceX had planned to carry out the launch in late August but delayed the mission to perform additional checks after an experimental vehicle was destroyed during a test flight in Texas on August 22. AsiaSat 6, a Space Systems/Loral 1300 series model, will provide C-band communications services from 120 degrees east in GEO. SpaceX launched a similar satellite, AsiaSat 8, in early August.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Technical issues postpone SpaceX Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

House bill offers $22.3 billion for NASA
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

White House seeks additional $1.6 billion for 2024 Moon landing
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 26
Wings Over the Rockies Announces Apollopalooza Schedule
PR Newswire — 11:29 am ET (1529 GMT)
GPSIA Applauds Senate Passage of GPS Resolution
GPS Alliance — 11:28 am ET (1528 GMT)
CUMULOS Takes Nighttime Images of Major Global Cities
Aerospace Corporation — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list