spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Foton returns to Earth, but geckos perish
Posted: Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 2:02 PM ET (1802 GMT)
Foton-M4 after landing (Roscosmos) A Russian research spacecraft returned to Earth on Monday, but its most celebrated payload did not survive the trip. The Foton-M4 spacecraft, launched in mid-July, landed Monday at 5:18 am EDT (0918 GMT, 1:18 pm Moscow time), returning to Earth biological and other experiments. However, five geckos that flew on the spacecraft were found to be dead upon landing. Russian media report that the geckos died of hypothermia, likely because of the failure of a thermal control system. It wasn't clear if that failure was linked to control problems the spacecraft experienced in the days after launch. Other experiments on the spacecraft, including one involving flies, were declared successful by Russian officials.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Technical issues postpone SpaceX Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

House bill offers $22.3 billion for NASA
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

White House seeks additional $1.6 billion for 2024 Moon landing
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 26
Wings Over the Rockies Announces Apollopalooza Schedule
PR Newswire — 11:29 am ET (1529 GMT)
GPSIA Applauds Senate Passage of GPS Resolution
GPS Alliance — 11:28 am ET (1528 GMT)
CUMULOS Takes Nighttime Images of Major Global Cities
Aerospace Corporation — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list