spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches six ORBCOMM satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 15, 2014, 7:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of ORBCOMM OG2 satellites (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket placed six ORBCOMM next-generation communications satellites into orbit on Monday. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 11:15 am EDT (1515 GMT) and placed into low Earth orbit six ORBCOMM Generation 2 (OG2) satellites. All six satellites deployed from the upper stage and are functioning properly, the company reported. The satellites are the first of a new generation of satellites that will replace the company's original constellation of satellites providing messaging and data services; a second set of 11 will launch on another Falcon 9 late this year. The launch, originally planned for May, was delayed for two months by a series of issues with the rocket and one of the six satellites. SpaceX also used the launch to test the ability of the Falcon 9 to land, although company CEO Elon Musk reported on Twitter that the stage broke apart immediately after reaching the ocean surface.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list