spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches OCO-2 spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 2, 2014, 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of OCO-2 (NASA) After a one-day delay, a Delta 2 rocket successfully placed a NASA Earth science satellite into orbit early Wednesday. The Delta 2 7320 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:56 am EDT (2:56 am local time, 0956 GMT) Wednesday after a problem-free countdown. The rocket's payload, the Orbiting Carbon Observatory 2 (OCO-2) satellite, separated from the Delta 2's upper stage 56 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, a replacement for the original OCO lost in a 2009 launch failure, will study carbon dioxide in the Earth's atmosphere. The launch was previously scheduled for Tuesday but scrubbed with less than a minute left in the countdown because of a problem with the water supply in the launch pad's sound suppression system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list