spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jun 20, 2014, 10:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2014 June 19 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts spent nearly seven and a half hours outside the International Space Station on Thursday, performing station maintenance and tending to experiments. Alexander Skvortsov and Oleg Artemyev completed their 7-hour, 23-minute spacewalk at 5:33 pm EDT (2133 GMT), the first EVA for either cosmonaut. The two installed a communications antenna on the Zvezda module and moved a payload cargo boom on the same module. They also worked on several experiments mounted on the station's exterior, including those devoted to orbital debris monitoring and materials exposure. The EVA took about an hour longer than originally planned, but the cosmonauts did complete all the major tasks scheduled for the spacewalk.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list