spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India successfully launches GSLV
Posted: Sun, Jan 5, 2014, 8:10 AM ET (1310 GMT)
GSLV-D5 launch (ISRO) In its first successful flight in several years, India's Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) placed a communications satellite into orbit on Sunday. The GSLV lifted off on schedule at 5:48 am EST (1048 GMT, 4:18 pm Indian time) Sunday form the Satish Dhawan Space Centre on a mission designated GSLV-D5. The rocket's cryogenic upper stage released its payload, the GSAT-14 communications satellite, 17 minutes after liftoff. The 1,982-kilogram GSAT-14 will provide C-, Ka-, and Ku-band communications services for India from 74 degrees east in GEO. The launch was a major milestone for the Indian space agency ISRO, which had struggled to develop its own cryogenic upper stage. The previous two GSLV launches, in April and December in 2010, both failed; the last successful GSLV launch was in 2007.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list