spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

GRAIL data reveal battered Moon
Posted: Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 6:23 AM ET (1123 GMT)
GRAIL illustration (NASA) NASA released this week the most accurate gravity field map of the Moon compiled to date, created from data provided by a pair of spacecraft nearing the end of their mission. Scientists used data from the twin Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) spacecraft, which have been orbiting the Moon since the beginning of the year, to create the best map of the Moon's gravity field yet developed. Scientists said this gravity field is closely linked to surface topography, such as craters and mountains, more so than any other terrestrial world in the solar system. Scientists also said the gravity data show that the Moon's crust is "incredibly" fractured, more so than previously thought. GRAIL's extended mission is scheduled to end on December 17, and the two spacecraft will crash into the lunar surface shortly thereafter.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 31 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

Atlas launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

Progress cargo spacecraft sent to ISS
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 31
SpaceShipTwo Flew on Untested Rocket
The Daily Beast — 10:28 pm ET (0228 GMT)
SpaceShipTwo crashes in Mojave desert, one dead
Las Cruces (NM) Sun-News — 10:24 pm ET (0224 GMT)
Will Virgin Galactic Crash Impact Space Tourism?
Bloomberg News — 10:21 pm ET (0221 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list