spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

MESSENGER confirms presence of water ice on Mercury
Posted: Fri, Nov 30, 2012, 6:38 AM ET (1138 GMT)
MESSENGER in orbit around Mercury (JHUAPL) Data from several instruments on a NASA spacecraft have allowed scientists to confirm the presence of water ice in craters near the poles of Mercury. In papers published in the journal Science this week, scientists said that data from the spacecraft's neutron spectrometer confirmed the presence of hydrogen-rich deposits, likely water ice, in permanently-shadowed craters near the planet's poles. Those areas correspond with radar-bright features in those craters, first detected by ground-based radar observations two decades ago. Near-infrared imagery also detected traces of organic compounds, likely left behind by the comet and asteroid impacts that deposited the ice, covering the ice. Scientists estimate the shadowed regions of craters, which remain cold enough to keep ice because they're always out of view of the Sun, could harbor between 100 billion and one trillion tons of ice.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches New Shepard vehicle on first test flight
Posted: Sat, May 2 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

Progress cargo spacecraft to reenter
Posted: Sat, May 2 9:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)

MESSENGER missions ends with crash on Mercury
Posted: Sat, May 2 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 2
The Great Space Twins Study Begins
Time — 9:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Mars-Bound Astronauts May Face Danger From Cosmic Rays
HealthDay News — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
A new commercial golden age?
The Engineer — 9:13 am ET (1313 GMT)
Is commercial space flight viable?
Management Today — 9:12 am ET (1312 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list