spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 25, 2012, 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Long Marc 3C launch of 11th Beidou satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket put the latest in a series of Chinese navigation satellites into orbit Friday. The Long March 3C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:12 am EST Friday (1612 GMT Friday, 12:12 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed the Beidou navigation satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite is the 11th in the series of Beidou satellites that currently provide navigation services for China and the surrounding region. China plans to expand the Beidou system to global coverage by 2020.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Sep 21 7:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)

Dawn glitch to delay spacecraft's arrival at Ceres
Posted: Sat, Sep 20 3:53 PM ET (1953 GMT)

Weather postpones SpaceX cargo launch
Posted: Sat, Sep 20 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 22
MAVEN Makes It to Mars
Sky & Telescope — 4:12 am ET (0812 GMT)
MAVEN Spacecraft Enters Mars’ Orbit: NASA
RIA Novosti — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
NASA robotic probe slips into orbit around Mars
Reuters — 4:03 am ET (0803 GMT)
Success! NASA's Maven Probe Goes Into Orbit Around Mars
NBCNews.com — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list