spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


FCC moves to block broadband network on GPS concerns
Posted: Thu, Feb 16, 2012, 6:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
The US Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is taking steps to block the implementation of a hybrid satellite-terrestrial broadband communications network after testing found interference with GPS navigation signals. LightSquared had sought to deploy a terrestrial network to augment its existing satellite to provide high-speed communications services in the US. However, after an extended debate and multiple testing efforts, the FCC said the National Telecommunications and Information Administration had found there was "no practical way" to mitigate the potential interference the LightSquared terrestrial signals would have on weaker GPS broadcasts. The FCC said it would thus move to revoke LightSquared license for a terrestrial network, thus blocking, perhaps permanently, LightSquared's plans. The company said it would continue to seek a solution that would allow it to deploy its system while alleviating any potential GPS interference concerns, including pursuing a swap of spectrum with the Defense Department.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Friday, September 30
Mission accomplished: Rosetta crashes into comet
Nature News — 7:46 pm ET (2346 GMT)
NASA Awards Audit Services Contracts
NASA — 7:43 pm ET (2343 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list