spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches three military satellites
Posted: Sun, May 5 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron rocket successfully launched three technology demonstration satellites for the Defense Department Sunday. The Electron lifted off from the company's launch...

SpaceX launches Dragon cargo spacecraft to the ISS
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft to the ISS Saturday after delays caused by problems in space and at sea. A Falcon 9 lifted...

Blue Origin launches New Shepard on latest test flight
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Blue Origin performed another successful test flight of its New Shepard suborbital vehicle Thursday. The vehicle, carrying 38 microgravity research payloads, lifted off from the...

Inmarsat reports decline in earnings in first quarter
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Inmarsat's profit fell ahead of a vote by shareholders next week on takeover bid. The company reported this week that earnings fell by 13...

NASA offers details on 2024 lunar landing plans
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
NASA is providing more details about how it thinks it can achieve a human lunar landing by 2024, but the budget remains uncertain. In a...

Long March 4B launches two satellites
Posted: Sat, May 4 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
China launched a pair of scientific satellites Monday. A Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 6:52 p....

SpaceX wins approval for lower Starlink orbits
Posted: Sun, Apr 28 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
SpaceX said Friday it received approval from the FCC to place some of its broadband communications satellites into a lower orbit. The FCC said SpaceX...

Hayabusa2 makes crater on asteroid
Posted: Sun, Apr 28 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Japan's Hayabusa2 spacecraft succeeded in making a crater on the surface of the asteroid Ryugu. Images returned by the spacecraft showed that an impactor...

InSight detects first Martian quake
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
NASA's InSight Mars lander has detected its first Marsquake. Scientists said Tuesday that the French-built seismometer on the lander detected the quake April...

Justice Department reaches deal with company implicated in Taurus failures
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
The Justice Department has reached a settlement with a company implicated in two Taurus launch failures. The department said that Hydro Extrusion Portland, Inc., formerly...



news in brief
Technical issues postpone SpaceX Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

House bill offers $22.3 billion for NASA
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

White House seeks additional $1.6 billion for 2024 Moon landing
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 24
Astronaut landings in Utah? Very likely, and soon
KSL-TV Salt Lake City — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Two National Security Space Launch Rockets Moving Forward
Air Force Magazine — 6:18 am ET (1018 GMT)
SASC OKs Space Force in 2020 Defense Policy Mark
Air Force Magazine — 6:18 am ET (1018 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list