spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Incorrect parameter caused Ariane 5 to fly off-course
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 1:46 PM ET (1846 GMT)
An Ariane 5 that went off-course after its launch in January did so because of an incorrect parameter in its computer system. Arianespace announced...

Falcon 9 launches radar, broadband satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 3:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)
SpaceX launched a Spanish radar satellite and two broadband demonstration satellites early Thursday. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule at 9:17 a.m....

National Space Council backs commercial space regulatory reform
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 3:38 PM ET (2038 GMT)
The National Space Council approved several recommendations for commercial space regulatory reform Wednesday. The Council, meeting at the Kennedy Space Center, backed four recommendations intended...

Bigelow Aerospace establishes space operations company
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 3:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)
Bigelow Aerospace has established a new company to handle sales and operations of its planned commercial space stations. The first task for the new Bigelow...

NASA foresees late 2020s human return to Moon
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 3:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)
NASA's lunar plans foresee humans returning to the lunar surface in the late 2020s. In a speech Tuesday, NASA Acting Administrator Robert Lightfoot said...

Astronauts complete robotic arm repairs on spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Feb 24 3:35 PM ET (2035 GMT)
American and Japanese astronauts breezed through a spacewalk Feb. 16 to complete work on the station's robotic arm. Mark Vande Hei and Norishige Kanai...

FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)
The chairman of the FCC has given his endorsement for SpaceX's proposed broadband satellite constellation. In a statement Wednesday, Ajit Pai said his fellow...

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a Progress cargo spacecraft early this morning after a two-day delay. The Soyuz-2.1a rocket lifted off from the...

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)
The administration's 2019 budget proposal for NASA includes plans to cancel a major space telescope. The budget proposal, released Monday, included the cancellation of...

China launches Bediou satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:15 PM ET (2315 GMT)
China launched another pair of Beidou navigation satellites early Monday. A Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list