spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tiangong-2 module reenters
Posted: Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
China's Tiangong-2 module reentered over the South Pacific July 19 as planned. Tiangong-2 reentered over the South Pacific Ocean Uninhabited Area at 9:06 am EDT (1306 GMT) using its own propulsion, following an engine burn a day earlier to lower the spacecraft’s perigee. The maneuver follows the high-profile and uncontrolled re-entry of Tiangong-1 in April 2018, having lost contact with and control of the experimental space lab in 2016. Both spacecraft were designed as steppingstones for developing and verifying technologies for larger 20-metric-ton modules for the planned Chinese Space Station, which China plans to complete in the early 2020s.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 14
U.S. Space Policy: The United States Space Force
Voice of America — 10:06 am ET (1506 GMT)
Let There Be Light (but not too much)
WHYY Philadelphia — 9:35 am ET (1435 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list