spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Sat, May 17, 2014, 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of GPS 2F-6 (ULA) A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched the latest in the current generation of Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation satellites Friday night. The Delta 4 Medium-Plus (4,2) lifted off on schedule at 8:03 pm EDT Friday (0003 GMT Saturday) carrying the GPS 2F-6 satellite. The rocket's Centaur upper stage deployed the satellite into medium Earth orbit about three and a half hours later. The launch had been scheduled for Thursday evening but was postponed by rain. The satellite is the sixth of 12 satellites built by Boeing that provide improved navigational services over their predecessors. Two more satellites in the GPS 2F series are scheduled for launch by the end of this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list