spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


InSight lands on Mars
Posted: Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 10:22 PM ET (0322 GMT)
InSight lander illustration (NASA) NASA's InSight spacecraft successfully landed on Mars Monday. The spacecraft landed near the "bullseye" in the Elysium Planitia region of Mars at 2:53 pm EST (1953 GMT) after a textbook entry and descent through the Martian atmosphere. Telemetry from InSight was successfully relayed in real time by the twin MarCO cubesats as they flew past the planet. NASA confirmed about seven hours after landing that the spaceraft's solar arrays deployed. The spacecraft will deploy is major instruments, a seismometer and heat flow probe, onto the Martian surface in the next few months, beginning a two-year mission to study the structure and composition of the planet's interior.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Stratolaunch aircraft flies for the first time
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

Falcon Heavy launches Arabsat-6A
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:37 AM ET (1437 GMT)

Beresheet lander crashes on the Moon
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 18
NASA’s other booster rocket
Houston Chronicle — 6:54 am ET (1054 GMT)
STPI: Human Mission to Orbit Mars in 2033 “Infeasible”
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list