spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Vega launches Moroccan imaging satellite
Posted: Fri, Nov 23, 2018, 9:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Vega launch of Mohammed-6B imaging satellite (Arianespace) A Vega rocket launched an Earth imaging satellite for the Moroccan government Tuesday night. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 8:42 pm EST (0142 GMT Wednesday) and deployed the Mohammad 6-B satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit nearly an hour later. The 1,100-kilogram satellite, built by Airbus Defence and Space with an imaging payload provided by Thales Alenia Space, will join an existing satellite to provide land mapping, natural-disaster prevention and management, environmental monitoring and border surveillance for the government of Morocco. The launch was the 13th for the Vega, with the next flight of the small launch vehicle expected in early 2019.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list