spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA to study turning field centers into FFRDCs
Posted: Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
NASA The White House has asked NASA to study converting one or more of its field centers into more independent organizations. The proposal, part of a broader package of proposed government reforms, would examine the benefits and drawbacks of turning government-operated centers into federally funded research and development centers (FFRDCs), which are owned and funded by the government but operated by a contractor. JPL, run by Caltech for NASA, is the agency's current sole FFRDC. A 2004 report by the Aldridge Commission also suggested turning NASA centers into FFRDCs as an alternative to closing one or more centers, but the administration and Congress did not act on that recommendation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Stratolaunch aircraft flies for the first time
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

Falcon Heavy launches Arabsat-6A
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:37 AM ET (1437 GMT)

Beresheet lander crashes on the Moon
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 18
First molecular bond in the universe found at last
Cosmos Magazine — 6:44 am ET (1044 GMT)
SDA’s Kennedy: Cislunar Space The Next Military Frontier
Breaking Defense — 6:44 am ET (1044 GMT)
6.6 Billion Light Years Away: Neutron Stars Merger Radiance Observed
University of Science and Technology of China — 6:43 am ET (1043 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list