spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts replace hand on ISS robotic arm during spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:37 AM ET (1537 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2018 January 23 (NASA) Astronauts successfully completed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station Tuesday to replace a hand on the station's robotic arm. Mark Vande Hei and Scott Tingle spent nearly seven and a half hours outside the station on an EVA that started at 6:49am EST (1149 GMT). They replaced one of the "latching end effectors" on the Canadarm2 arm with a spare unit. The new hand initially was not communicating properly, but a reboot of the arm's electronics fixed the issue. Vande Hei and Norishige Kanai will perform a second spacewalk to complete the hand replacement work.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list