spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Intelsat 35e
Posted: Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 7:51 AM ET (1151 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Intelsat 35e (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 launched a communications satellite July 5 after last-second glitches scrubbed two prior attempts. The Falcon 9 rocket lifted off at 7:38 pm EDT (2338 GMT) from Launch Complex 39A at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida, placing the Intelsat 35e satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit a little more than a half hour later. The launch took place after last-second scrubs Sunday and Monday that SpaceX blamed on computer glitches. The launch was the tenth this year for SpaceX, the most missions it has performed in a year and putting the company on track to launch 18 or more times this year. The Boeing-built Intelsat 35e is a high-throughput satellite that will provide services for the Americas, Europe and Africa.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list