spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches two commercial satellites, but landing fails
Posted: Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 9:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of ABS-2A and Eutlesat 117 West B (SpaceX) SpaceX successfully launched two communications satellites June 15, but failed to land the first stage. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule from Cape Canaveral at 10:29 am EDT (1429 GMT) and released the Eutelsat 117 West B and ABS-2A communications satellites into geostationary transfer orbit a little more than a half-hour later. The two satellites, both Boeing 702SP all-electric satellites, are the second pair of a four-satellite purchase made by ABS and Satmex (since acquired by Eutelsat) four years ago. There were no issues with the launch itself, but the Falcon 9 first stage failed to land successfully on a ship downrange, breaking a streak of three consecutive landings. SpaceX CEO Elon Musk later said that one of three first stage engines used during the landing attempt had low thrust, and the other two were unable to compensate.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 1
SoftBank to Merge OneWeb With Intelsat, Invest $1.7 Billion
Bloomberg News — 6:30 am ET (1130 GMT)
SoftBank-backed OneWeb to merge with Intelsat
Reuters — 6:30 am ET (1130 GMT)
Intelsat, OneWeb merging with big cash injection from SoftBank
Washington Business Journal — 6:29 am ET (1129 GMT)
SoftBank to put $1.7 bil. in U.S. satellite service provider Intelsat
Kyodo International — 6:27 am ET (1127 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list