spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Intelsat 31
Posted: Sun, Jun 12, 2016, 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
Proton launch of Intelsat 31 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully placed an Intelsat satellite into orbit Thursday despite an issue with the rocket. The Proton's Breeze-M upper stage released the Intelsat 31 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit late Thursday, more than 15 hours after a 3:10 am EDT (0710 GMT) liftoff from Baikonur. However, during the launch one lower stage engine shut down prematurely, causing it to underperform, although the Breeze-M was able to compensate during its series of burns. The launch was the first for the latest upgrade to the Proton, incorporating lighter-weight, but stronger, metallic structures and high-precision tooling that gives the vehicle an additional 150 kilograms of payload capacity for geostationary orbit missions. The satellite will be used to provide direct-to-home TV services for DIRECTV Latin America.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 1
SoftBank to Merge OneWeb With Intelsat, Invest $1.7 Billion
Bloomberg News — 6:30 am ET (1130 GMT)
SoftBank-backed OneWeb to merge with Intelsat
Reuters — 6:30 am ET (1130 GMT)
Intelsat, OneWeb merging with big cash injection from SoftBank
Washington Business Journal — 6:29 am ET (1129 GMT)
SoftBank to put $1.7 bil. in U.S. satellite service provider Intelsat
Kyodo International — 6:27 am ET (1127 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list