spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus berths with ISS
Posted: Wed, Jul 16, 2014, 3:25 PM ET (1925 GMT)
Cygnus grappled by ISS arm on Orb-2 mission (NASA) A Cygnus spacecraft carrying nearly 1,500 kilograms of cargo berthed with the International Space Station on Wednesday morning. The station's robotic arm grappled the Cygnus spacecraft, flying on a mission designated Orb-2, at 6:36 am EDT (1036 GMT) Wednesday. The arm then berthed the Cygnus with a port on the Earth-facing side of the Harmony module at 8:53 am EDT (1253 GMT). The Cygnus was launched Sunday on an Antares rocket from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia. The robotic spacecraft is carrying supplies for the station, including 32 small satellites that will later be deployed from the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list