spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pad glitch scrubs Delta 2 launch
Posted: Tue, Jul 1, 2014, 8:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
OCO-2 satellite illustration (NASA/JPL) An issue with a sound suppression system on the launch pad postponed an early Tuesday morning launch of a NASA climate satellite by at least 24 hours. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:56 am EDT (2:56 am local time, 0956 GMT) and place the Orbiting Carbon Observatory 2 (OCO-2) satellite into orbit. However, controllers stopped the countdown 46 seconds before launch when a water flow system designed to suppress sound during liftoff malfunctioned. Launch controllers are planning for a 24-hour delay, but will need to inspect the faulty equipment on the launch pad before making a decision on the next launch date. OCO-2, a replacement for the original OCO lost in a 2009 launch failure, will study carbon dioxide in the Earth's atmosphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list