spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 20, 2012, 12:37 PM ET (1737 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of Skynet 5D and Mexsat Bicentenario (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket launched communications satellite for the British military and for a Mexican government agency on Wednesday evening. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from the spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:49 pm EST (2149 GMT) and placed the Skynet 5D and Mexsat Bicentenario spacecraft into geosynchronous transfer orbit about a half-hour later. Skynet 5D is an EADS Astrium Eurostar E3000 model spacecraft, weighing 4,800 kilograms at launch. Astrium Services will operate the spacecraft at 53 degrees east in GEO to provide communications services for the British Ministry of Defence and allies. Mexsat Bicentenario is an Orbital Sciences GEOStar-3 model spacecraft, weighing approximately 3,000 kilograms at launch. It will be operated by the Mexican Secretariat of Communications and Transport to provide C- and Ku-band communications services from 114.9 degrees west in GEO. The launch was the seventh and final Ariane 5 mission of the year, and the last scheduled orbital launch worldwide in 2012.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 20
Editorial: The second space age
Roanoke (VA) Times — 1:34 am ET (0534 GMT)
What Happened to the 12 Men Who Walked on the Moon?
Inside Edition — 1:29 am ET (0529 GMT)
Space, still the final frontier
Science — 1:29 am ET (0529 GMT)
Narcissists in Space
Jacobin — 1:28 am ET (0528 GMT)
China's super-sized space plans may involve help from Russia
Popular Science — 1:28 am ET (0528 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list