spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit-3SL launches Eutelsat spacecraft
Posted: Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch of Eutelsat 70B (Sea Launch) A Zenit-3SL rocket successfully placed a communications satelite into orbit for Eutelsat on Monday. The Zenit-3SL, operated by Sea Launch, lifted off from its floating launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 3:44 pm EST (2044 GMT), and released the Eutelsat-70B satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit 66 minutes later. The satellite, built by EADS Astrium, weighed 5,210 kilograms at launch, and carries a payload of 48 Ku-band transponders. Eutelsat will operate the spacecraft at 70.5 degrees east in GEO, providing communications services from Europe to Australia. The launch was the third for Sea Launch this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Mon, May 30 4:07 PM ET (2007 GMT)

BEAM deployed on ISS
Posted: Mon, May 30 3:48 PM ET (1948 GMT)

SpaceX launches Thaicom-8, lands first stage
Posted: Mon, May 30 3:38 PM ET (1938 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 31
NASA releases most detailed close-up of Pluto yet
Cosmos Magazine — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)
Chinese Long March 4B sends trio of Earth-observing satellites aloft
SpaceFlight Insider — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)
A Close Encounter for Earth and Mars
New York Times — 5:34 am ET (0934 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list