spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
China launches communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Nov 28, 2012, 5:55 AM ET (1055 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Chinasat-12 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket launched a Chinese communications satellite that will be used, in part, by a Sri Lankan company. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 5:13 am EST (1013 GMT. 6:13 pm Beijing time) Tuesday and placed the Chinasat-12 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite, a Spacebus 4000 model built by Thales Alenia Space, weighed approximately 5,000 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of C- and Ku-band transponders. The spacecraft is a so-called "ITAR-free" spacecraft without any US-built components to comply with US export control restrictions. China Satcom, the satellite's owner, will operate the satellite at 87.5 degrees east in GEO, providing communications services from China to the Middle East. a portion of the satellite's capacity will be leased to a Sri Lankan company, SupremeSat, which refers to the satellite at SupremeSat-1.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
Asteroids Named After Two Arizona State University Professors
Phoenix New Times — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
Corning donates $1.8M mirror for space telescope
Elmira (NY) Star-Gazette — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
8th Mars Report: Was Ancient Mars Warm and Wet or Cold and Icy?
The Planetary Society — 6:59 am ET (1059 GMT)
Rocket Lab Prepares For Launch
Wall Street Journal — 6:54 am ET (1054 GMT)
Tributes after sudden death of space expert
Cambrian (UK) News — 6:54 am ET (1054 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list