spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

AD: H2M 2014 Conference
Proton launches EchoStar satellite
Posted: Wed, Nov 21, 2012, 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)
Proton launch of EchoStar 16 (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched an American communications satellite on the same day that the company that markets the Proton commercially replaced its president. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 1:31 pm EST Tuesday (1831 GMT Tuesday, 12:31 am local time Wednesday). Its Breeze M upper stage released the EchoStar 16 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit 9 hours and 12 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-series satellite, weighed 6,683 kilograms at launch and carries 36 Ku-band transponders. EchoStar will use the satellite at 61.5 degrees west in GEO to provide direct-to-home television services in the US. The launch took place the same day that International Launch Services (ILS), the company that markets the Proton to commercial customers, announced that president Frank McKenna was leaving, and would be replaced by Phil Slack, ILS's vice president and CFO. ILS gave no reason for the move.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts replace ISS computer in brief spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Apr 24 6:14 AM ET (1014 GMT)

Data shows increased frequency of asteroid impacts
Posted: Thu, Apr 24 5:58 AM ET (0958 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 24
ATK to Announce Fiscal Year 2014 Financial Results
PR Newswire — 7:34 pm ET (2334 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Declares Second Quarter 2014 Dividend
PR Newswire — 7:34 pm ET (2334 GMT)
ESA keeps eye on Ukraine crisis as Vega launch nears
Flightglobal.com — 7:33 pm ET (2333 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list