spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Mon, Nov 19, 2012, 5:37 AM ET (1037 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-05 after landing (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three returning International Space Station crewmembers safely landed early Monday in Kazakhstan. The Soyuz TMA-05M spacecraft undocked from the ISS at 5:26 pm EST (2226 GMT) Sunday and landed north of Arkalyk, Kazakhstan, at 8:56 pm EST Sunday (0156 GMT, 7:56 am local time Monday). On board the Soyuz were NASA astronaut Sunita Williams, JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and Roscosmos cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko, who spent 127 days in space. Initial reports indicated that the capsule landed as much as 35 kilometers away from the target because of the delayed release of a parachute, but NASA officials later said the capsule did land very close to the target. Three people remain on the ISS, and the crew will return to six with the launch of a Soyuz next month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list