STS-113 mission coverage

mission elapsed time:

m i s s i o n   n e w s   s u m m a r i e s
m i s s i o n   a r t i c l e s
Endeavour finally lands
Posted: Sat, Dec 7 3:24 PM ET (2024 GMT)
STS-113: Endeavour landing at KSC (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour landed Saturday afternoon at the Kennedy Space Center after three days of poor weather kept the shuttle in orbit. Endeavour touched down at KSC at 2:37 pm EST (1937 GMT) on the first of two landing opportunities Saturday in Florida. Endeavour had been trying to land since Wednesday, but poor weather in Florida kept the shuttle from landing. NASA had been trying to land the shuttle in Florida to avoid the cost and schedule delays involved with transporting the shuttle from California, but by Saturday NASA was willing to land the shuttle at Edwards Air Force Base in California if the Florida weather did not cooperate. The next shuttle mission is scheduled for launch in mid-January when Columbia will launch on a non-ISS dedicated science mission.


Shuttle landing delayed for third straight day
Posted: Fri, Dec 6 3:40 PM ET (2040 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) NASA delayed the landing of the space shuttle Endeavour for a record-setting third straight day Friday, but shuttle managers said they would bring the orbiter down Saturday in either Florida or California. NASA planned to land Endeavour at the Kennedy Space Center during one of two opportunities Friday, but low clouds over the landing site prompted NASA to keep the shuttle in orbit one more day. The space agency is now planning a landing on Saturday either at KSC or at Edwards Air Force Base in California. There are two landing opportunities at KSC at 2:37 and 4:19 pm EST (1937 and 2119 GMT) as well as two later ones at Edwards at 5:45 and 7:22 pm EST (2245 and 0022 GMT). STS-113 is the first mission to have landing attempts postponed for three straight days. NASA is trying to land the shuttle in Florida to avoid the cost and schedule impacts of a California landing, and to also allow the crew to immediately reunite with their families waiting in Florida. The shuttle has enough propellant to remain in orbit until at least Sunday, if necessary, but weather conditions in both California and Florida should permit a landing in either location Saturday.


NASA scrubs Thursday shuttle landing
Posted: Thu, Dec 5 12:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers decided Thursday morning not to make any landing attempts of the shuttle Endeavour on Thursday because of poor weather in Florida. NASA...


Weather delays shuttle landing
Posted: Wed, Dec 4 7:50 PM ET (0050 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour will remain in orbit at least one more day after cloudy weather forced NASA to delay Wednesday's scheduled landing of...


Shuttle undocks from ISS, deploys satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 2 10:06 PM ET (0306 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour undocked from the International Space Station Monday afternoon as the STS-113 mission winds down. The shuttle undocked from ISS at...





Tuesday, December 17
John Herrington's shuttle mission an amazing success
Indian Country Today — 1:24 pm ET (1824 GMT)

Monday, December 9
Space station crew in 'good shape' after landing
Spaceflight Now — 7:16 am ET (1216 GMT)

Sunday, December 8
Shuttle lands in Florida -- finally
UPI — 9:39 am ET (1439 GMT)
U.S. Space Shuttle Makes Safe Landing in Florida
RIA Novosti — 9:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Endeavour, Three Days Late, Lands in Florida
Reuters — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)
Endeavour Makes Delayed Return to Earth
AP — 8:55 am ET (1355 GMT)
Space Shuttle Lands Safely in Florida, 3 Days Late
New York Times — 8:49 am ET (1349 GMT)
US space shuttle lands in Florida
AFP — 8:43 am ET (1343 GMT)
Endeavour lands in Florida after three-day weather delay
Houston Chronicle — 8:37 am ET (1337 GMT)
Endeavour glides home
Florida Today — 8:36 am ET (1336 GMT)



Return to the spacetoday.net home page



about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list