spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Senate defense bill includes funding for Space Force, small launch
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
The Senate's defense appropriations bill includes $22 million for a new small launch program. The funding for Tactically Responsive Space Launch, part of the...

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
Astronomers have found a planet in a star's habitable zone with evidence of water in its atmosphere, but don't make your travel plans...

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
China launched three satellites on a Long March 4B overnight. The rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 11:26 p.m....

Relatvity signs agreement with Momentus
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Relativity announced a launch agreement Wednesday with Momentus. The agreement includes one launch of Relativity's Terran 1 rocket in 2021...

Glenn center director to retire
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
The director of NASA's Glenn Research Center will retire from NASA at the end of the month. Janet Kavandi, who led the Cleveland-based...

Chinese commercial small rocket launches two satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 1 9:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
A small launch vehicle operated by the commercial arm of a Chinese company placed two satellites into orbit Friday. The Kuaizhou-1A rocket lifted off...

Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 1 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Rockot vehicle launched a small satellite for Russia's military Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:...

US Space Command formally reestablished
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
President Trump formally reestablished U.S. Space Command during a White House ceremony Thursday. In brief remarks, Trump said the revived command "will boldly deter...

Iranian rocket explodes on launch pad
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:17 PM ET (2217 GMT)
An Iranian rocket appears to have exploded on its pad during preparations for a launch. Satellite imagery taken Thursday showed a plume of smoke and...

JWST segments combined for first time
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:14 PM ET (2214 GMT)
The two halves of the James Webb Space Telescope have been connected for the first time. NASA said Wednesday that the observatory's telescope element,...



news in brief
Boeing plans December orbital test flight of Starliner
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)

Proton launches two commercial satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)

Boeing to invest in Virgin Galactic
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:06 PM ET (0006 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 14
Hazzaa's home as UAE-Russia ties soar into space
Khaleej Times — 5:52 am ET (0952 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list