spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)
NASA unveiled a multi-pronged effort Friday to increase commercial use of the International Space Station, from changes in policy to making a docking port...

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
NASA is planning a new approach to resolving a problem with an instrument on the InSight Mars lander. The Heat Flow and Physics Properties Package...

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)
The UK government will fund development of spaceport facilities at a British airport to allow it to host Virgin Orbit. The UK Space Agency and...

China performs first sea-based orbital launch
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
China successfully launched a small rocket from a ship in the Yellow Sea Wednesday. A Long March 11 rocket launched from the ship at 12:...

House defense bill draft doesn't include Space Force
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)
A draft version of a defense authorization bill in the House is silent on the issue of creating a Space Force. The House Armed Services...

NASA awards contracts to three companies for commercial lunar lander missions
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
NASA announced Friday the award of more than $250 million in contracts to three companies to deliver NASA payloads to the lunar surface by 2021....

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
A Proton successfully launched a Russian communications satellite Thursday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 1:42 pm EDT (1742 GMT), releasing...

Northrop Grumman tests OmegA first stage motor
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
Northrop Grumman said a static-fire test of the first stage of its OmegA rocket was a success despite an apparent anomaly near the end....

Inmarsat orders three satellites from Airbus
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
Inmarsat has ordered three new Global Xpress satellites from Airbus. The contract, announced early Thursday, covers the production of satellites GX 7, 8 and 9...

Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk outside ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
Two Russian cosmonauts carried out a six-hour spacewalk outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Oleg Kononenko and Alexey Ovchinin started the spacewalk at 11:...



news in brief
Boeing plans December orbital test flight of Starliner
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)

Proton launches two commercial satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)

Boeing to invest in Virgin Galactic
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:06 PM ET (0006 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 14
Hazzaa's home as UAE-Russia ties soar into space
Khaleej Times — 5:52 am ET (0952 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list