spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA awards contracts to three companies for commercial lunar lander missions
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
NASA announced Friday the award of more than $250 million in contracts to three companies to deliver NASA payloads to the lunar surface by 2021....

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
A Proton successfully launched a Russian communications satellite Thursday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 1:42 pm EDT (1742 GMT), releasing...

Northrop Grumman tests OmegA first stage motor
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
Northrop Grumman said a static-fire test of the first stage of its OmegA rocket was a success despite an apparent anomaly near the end....

Inmarsat orders three satellites from Airbus
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
Inmarsat has ordered three new Global Xpress satellites from Airbus. The contract, announced early Thursday, covers the production of satellites GX 7, 8 and 9...

Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk outside ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 2 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
Two Russian cosmonauts carried out a six-hour spacewalk outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Oleg Kononenko and Alexey Ovchinin started the spacewalk at 11:...

Technical issues postpone SpaceX Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
SpaceX postponed Thursday night's scheduled launch of 60 Starlink satellites because of a technical issue. The company postponed the launch more than two hours...

House bill offers $22.3 billion for NASA
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)
House appropriators released a spending bill Thursday that increases funding for NASA but largely ignores a budget amendment that sought a bigger increase. The commerce,...

White House seeks additional $1.6 billion for 2024 Moon landing
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
The White House will seek an additional $1.6 billion for NASA in fiscal year 2020 as a "down payment" for a 2024 human lunar...

Virgin Galactic prepares to move SpaceShipOne operations to New Mexico
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
Virgin Galactic announced May 10 it will move SpaceShipTwo operations to New Mexico this summer ahead of final flight tests and commercial service of the...

Inmarsat shareholders approve buyout
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
Shareholders have approved a private-equity takeover of Inmarsat. More than three quarters of shareholders voted on May 10 in favor of the proposed acquisition...



news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list