spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GRACE Earth science mission ends
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that the Gravity Recovery and Climate Experiment (GRACE) Earth science mission had ended after problems with one of its two satellites. NASA...

Virgin announces billion-dollar Saudi investment in space companies
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:43 AM ET (1543 GMT)
Saudi Arabia's sovereign wealth fund has agreed to invest $1 billion into the Virgin Group's space companies. The agreement, announced Thursday and at...

Astronomers discover asteroid from another solar system
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:42 AM ET (1542 GMT)
Astronomers this week said they have discovered an object on a hyperbolic trajectory passing through the solar system, likely from another solar system. A telescope...

SpaceX prepares to shift launches back to SLC-40
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
SpaceX appears ready to move Falcon 9 launches back to a pad damaged in an explosion last year. A NASA media advisory Thursday about a...

Senator states opposition to Bridenstine NASA nomination
Posted: Sun, Oct 29 11:39 AM ET (1539 GMT)
A Democratic senator has come out in opposition to the nomination of Jim Bridenstine to be NASA administrator. In a letter Thursday, Sen. Patty Murray (...

Astronauts complete series of ISS maintenance spacewalks
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts performed the third and final in a series of spacewalks Friday to make repairs and upgrades to the International Space Station. Astronauts...

Blue Origin performs first test of BE-4 engine
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:26 AM ET (1526 GMT)
Blue Origin said Thursday it has successfully performed the first test of its BE-4 engine. The company released few technical details about the hotfire...

Iridium to use previously-flown Falcon 9 stages on upcoming launches
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
Iridium will launch its next two sets of next-generation satellites on Falcon 9 rockets with previously flown first stages. Iridium had planned to use...

Spacecom selects SpaceX for satellite launches
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
Spacecom will launch its next satellite on a Falcon 9, with an option for a second mission, despite losing a satellite in a pad explosion...

Second set of COSMIC-2 satellites cancelled
Posted: Sun, Oct 22 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)
NOAA and Taiwan's science ministry have cancelled plans to develop a second set of next-generation GPS radio occultation weather satellites. NOAA and the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Saturday, November 18
Rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for Saturday
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:43 am ET (0743 GMT)
Codename Zuma: All about SpaceX's secret launch
CNNMoney.com — 2:42 am ET (0742 GMT)
Elon Musk on His Fears, Dreams, Twitter, Morality and Mars
Rolling Stone — 2:39 am ET (0739 GMT)
UAE's Mars City to be ready in 30 months
Zawya — 2:38 am ET (0738 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list